SNAPCHAT UPDATE

Snapchat has just released its new Snap Map feature that can share your location with Snapchat friends via a map. The feature is off by default so, if you want to share your location, you have to opt-in. Also, it only shares your location with people you’ve friended on Snapchat. Your location isn’t public (though anyone who knows your location could share it with others).

CAUTION: Once you opt-in, whatever audience you’re sharing with can see your location updated, every time you open the Snapchat app, regardless of whether you send them or anyone else a Snap.


To opt-in:

  • Go to the Snapchat camera and squeeze your fingers together, as if you’re zooming out
  • That brings up a map. If you don’t see the map settings press the settings icon (a little gear in the upper right corner
  • By default, you’re in Ghost Mode so no-one can see your location.  To enable location sharing, uncheck Ghost Mode
  • If you wish to share with all your Snapchat friends (not recommended for most users) then check My Friends
  • If you wish to select which friends to share with (recommended), select each friend you wish to share with and you’ll see a check mark next to their names


To opt-out or limit who can see your location

  • Go to the Snapchat camera and squeeze your fingers together, as if you’re zooming out
  • That brings up a map. If you don’t see the map settings press the settings icon (a little gear in the upper right corner.
  • Check Ghost Mode to completely opt-out of sharing your location OR
  • Check My Friends and either select or unselect friends, depending on who you wish to share with


Some precautions

  • If you do decide to share your location, I recommend that you select only trusted friends and family and that you review those selections from time to time. A friend can become an ex-friend.
  • Parents should talk with their children about the safe use of this feature, which can include leaving it off (Ghost Mode) or carefully limiting which of their friends can see their location and reviewing that periodically.
  • Be aware that anyone with access to your phone and the app can change your settings. If you have any reason to be concerned about someone doing this, do not let them access your phone. Phones should always be protected with PINs, fingerprint recognition or other tools to prevent unauthorized access
  • Because Snapchat can reveal your current location every time you open the app, consider switching to Ghost Mode if you plan to use the app from  any location that you don’t want to disclose